Access Privilege: Allow Access to Edit Item by Item Status and not able to Cancel an Order
Refer to Product IdeasHi team,
I have a question related to one of our Access Privileges:
Client: Dubai World Trade Centre (DWTC)
Region: EMEA
Background Information: DWTC uses the Access Privilege “Allow Access to Edit Item by Item Status” to make sure the users can only Edit Service Order Items to status 40, which means they can only access open items. This works fine, however, when there is already one of the items cancelled in the order, the user can not cancel the whole Service Order because of this same Access Privilege. Example:
The Service Order with two cancelled items:

Now, the user wants to cancel the whole Order. The recreation steps are:
> Actions > Tools > Cancel > Select Status Cancelled and Continue

Actual Result: Now, the user gets an Access Privilege Message saying that this action is restricted. This is probably because there are two cancelled items in this Order with Item Status Cancelled (99), so the system wants to kind of update/edit these as well, while that should be skipped, since they are already cancelled.
Expected Result: Since the user is cancelling the order and not editing the Cancelled Items, the system should ignore the already Cancelled Items.
The current workaround now is to give the users access to value 99 (including Cancelled Items) in the Access Privilege, but this is not preferred, because then the user can also modify Completed Items (like the Item Description)
Question: is this a bug or a gap in the development?
-
Tagging Mike Schepker and Cathy Herrick to review and comment
-
Seth Halvaksz - This sounds like it is working as designed to me but this scenario is likely a gap in the design versus actual utilization for customers.
The DWTC users are limited to a status level of 40 and cancelled status is above that.
I tested in 25.3 QE and cancelled order items don't seem to be affected by closing the SO - they remain cancelled (see screenshot) - the broiled halibut was cancelled before the order was closed and is still cancelled after too.

-
Cathy Herrick Did you try cancelling an order that already had an item cancelled? I think that is the problem they are running into, and it's preventing them from doing so because the cancel logic is running through all items and stopping them when it gets to the already cancelled item, which it shouldn't need to do anything on.
-
if I cancel the entire order, the original item i had cancelled stays cancelled as well it doesn't actually get changed.
-
I was able to recreate this behavior in the QE database. Ned Ryerson was assigned a status level of 30. When attempting to cancel an order that has an item that was already cancelled receives the error.

However, I also tried on an order that didn't already have an item that was cancelled and receive the same message when trying to cancel the order, so I think this is working as designed.

-
Thanks Cathy and Mike for reviewing this.
I agree this sounds like its working as designed - when one of the service order items is cancelled, the user is unable to cancel the entire service order because DWTC users are limited to update orders with status level up to 40 and cancelled status is above that.
I think the enhancement request here (to add to Pendo) is to be able to cancel a service order with cancelled service order items.
-
Thank you so much Mike Schepker and Cathy Herrick for your input.
By the way Mike Schepker when I try to cancel a Service Order without any cancelled items in it, I am able to do so without the error message. It happens only to me when there are cancelled items in the order.

Does this change anything on the outcome? (bug vs. enhancement?) If not, I will ask the customer to add this as enhancement request.
-
Hi Seth Halvaksz and Mike Schepker I still had this case on my to-do-list and I wanted to create a PENDO Enhancement for it. Looking at my latest comment, does this change anything, or is it still an enhancement request?
-
Minka Verkaar I think it's still an enhancement request because the status is still higher than what the user is set for, if that makes sense.
-
Thanks Mike Schepker.
See Pendo Request for reference: https://app.pendo.io/s/6229449325477888/listen/feedback/views/ZWNAnL_3nsJ6p5EtfWhAOeEO8vg/items?openItem=TxJC6ixwPkbUOILAY8NZ3lFBSsI
Please sign in to leave a comment.
Comments
10 comments
Date Votes